2009 Tiptree Awards

[Via cherylmmorgan:] This year’s winners of the James Tiptree, Jr. Award are the awesome Nisi Shawl, for Filter House, and Patrick Ness, for The Knife of Never Letting Go. Congrats to both of you!

Congrats also to the folks who made the shortlist:

Christopher Barzak, The Love We Share Without Knowing
Jenny Davidson, The Explosionist
Gregory Frost, Shadowbridge and Lord Tophet: A Shadowbridge Novel
Alison Goodman, The Two Pearls of Wisdom (U.S. title: Eon: Dragoneye Reborn)
John Kessel, “Pride or Prometheus”
Margo Lanagan, Tender Morsels
Ursula K. Le Guin, Lavinia
John Ajvide Lindqvist, Let the Right One In (Original Swedish title: Låt den rätte komma in)
Paul Park, A Princess of Roumania, The Tourmaline, The White Tyger, and The Hidden World
Ekaterina Sedia, The Alchemy of Stone
Ali Smith, Girl Meets Boy
Ysabeau S. Wilce, Flora’s Dare: How a Girl of Spirit Gambles All to Expand Her Vocabulary, Confront a Bouncing Boy Terror, and Try to Save Califa from a Shaky Doom (Despite Being Confined to Her Room)

Finally, a round of applause for the judges panel: Gavin J. Grant (chair), K. Tempest Bradford, Leslie Howle, Roz Kaveney, and Catherynne M. Valente.